Dr Nguyễn Thanh Thùy Nhiên

Dr Nguyễn Thanh Thùy Nhiên

Vice Head of Malaria

Dr Thuy Nhien joined OUCRU in June 2010 and has experience as an investigator involved in many clinical trials/laboratory researches related to anti-malarial drug resistance, new drug development, and genetic surveillance and supervised the Malaria laboratory.

Dr Thuy Nhien is leading genetic surveillance activities in Vietnam, in close collaboration with Vietnam NMCPs, GenRe-Mekong project, MORU and Wellcome Sanger Institute (UK) to monitor and understand how drug resistance emerges and spreads in malaria parasites and provide timely quality information to support drug policy decision marking.

Dr Thuy Nhien’s current research focuses on drug resistance molecular markers, molecular epidemiology of drug resistance in Vietnam and GMS, and malaria elimination.



PhD in Life Sciences from the Kyoto Institute of Technology (Kyoto, Japan)


Varanya Wasakul, Areeya Disratthakit, Mayfong Mayxay, Keobouphaphone Chindavongsa, Viengphone Sengsavath, Nguyen Thuy-Nhien, Richard D Pearson, Sonexay Phalivong, Saiamphone Xayvanghang, Richard J Maude, Sonia Goncalves, Nicholas P Day, Paul N Newton, Elizabeth A Ashley, Dominic P Kwiatkowski, Arjen M Dondorp, Olivo Miotto
Lancet Infect Dis
November 30, 2022
DOI: 10.1016/S1473-3099(22)00697-1
Mallika Imwong, Kanokon Suwannasin, Suttipat Srisutham, Ranitha Vongpromek, Cholrawee Promnarate, Aungkana Saejeng, Aung Pyae Phyo, Stephane Proux, Tiengkham Pongvongsa, Chea Nguon, Olivo Miotto, Rupam Tripura, Nguyen Hoang Chau, Dysoley Lek, Ho Dang Trung Nghia, Thomas J Peto, James J Callery, Rob W van der Pluijm, Chanaki Amaratunga, Mavuto Mukaka, Lorenz von Seidlein, Mayfong Mayxay, Nguyen Thanh Thuy-Nhien et al.
Antimicrob Agents Chemother
September 13, 2021
DOI: 10.1128/AAC.01121-21
Walter Robert Taylor, Richard M Hoglund, Pimnara Peerawaranun, Thuy Nhien Nguyen, Tran Tinh Hien, Arnaud Tarantola, Lorenz von Seidlein, Rupam Tripura, Thomas J Peto, Arjen M Dondorp, Jordi Landier, Francois H Nosten, Frank Smithuis, Koukeo Phommasone, Mayfong Mayxay, Soy Ty Kheang, Chy Say, Kak Neeraj, Leang Rithea, Lek Dysoley, Sim Kheng, Sinoun Muth, Arantxa Roca-Feltrer, Mark Debackere, Rick M Fairhurst, Ngak Song, Philippe Buchy, Didier Menard, Nicholas J White, Joel Tarning, Mavuto Mukaka
Malar J
September 9, 2021
DOI: 10.1186/s12936-021-03886-w
1 2 7
Skip to content