Kevin Baird.

Professor J. Kevin Baird

Director of OUCRU Indonesia

Professor Kevin Baird, BSc, MSc, PhD, FASTMH, is the Director of OUCRU Indonesia in Jakarta, Indonesia, and Professor of Malariology at the Nuffield Department of Medicine, University of Oxford.


Kevin served 22 years on active duty in the US Navy Medical Service Corps as a Microbiologist specializing in malaria prevention, control, treatment, epidemiology, and immunology research.

He has long focused on Plasmodium vivax malaria, in particular on the problems of G6PD deficiency and cytochrome P-450 2D6 pharmacogenetics regarding the toxicity and efficacy of primaquine therapy against relapse of that species. His laboratory undertakes clinical trials of therapies against relapse of P. vivax, principally in Indonesian soldiers but also in village settings, in addition to laboratory and field studies of G6PD deficiency biochemistry, diagnostics, and epidemiology.




  • Navy Humanitarian Service Medal (2004, 2005)
  • Navy Meritorious Service Medal (1999, 2003, 2005)
  • Navy Achievement Medal (1996)
  • Navy Commendation Medal (1996, 2005)
  • Defense Meritorious Service Medal (1988)


Honourable discharge from US Navy active duty, 1984-2006, with the rank of Captain, Medical Service Corps


Bailey K. Ashford Medal for outstanding work in the field of tropical medicine by the American Society of Tropical Medicine & Hygiene


Armed Forces Institute of Pathology Military Scientist of the Year


Councillor to the Helminthological Society of Washington


Vice President of the Tropical Medicine Association of Washington


Walter Reed Army Institute of Research Scientific Achievement Award


Medical Parasitology, School of Public Health and Tropical Medicine, Tulane University, New Orleans, Louisiana, USA


Master of Science, Biochemistry, University of Maryland, College Park, Maryland, USA


Bachelor of Science, Microbiology, University of Maryland, College Park, Maryland, USA


Joseph Donovan, Nguyen D Bang, Darma Imran, Ho D T Nghia, Erlina Burhan, Dau T T Huong, Nguyen T T Hiep, Lam H B Ngoc, Dang V Thanh, Nguyen T Thanh, Anna L S Wardhani, Kartika Maharani, Cakra P Gasmara, Nguyen H H Hanh, Pham K N Oanh, Riwanti Estiasari, Do D A Thu, Ardiana Kusumaningrum, Le T Dung, Do C Giang, Dang T M Ha, Nguyen H Lan, Nguyen V V Chau, Nguyen T M Nguyet, Ronald B Geskus, Nguyen T T Thuong, Evelyne Kestelyn, Raph L Hamers, Nguyen H Phu, Guy E Thwaites; ACT HIV Investigators
N Engl J Med
October 12, 2023
DOI: 10.1056/NEJMoa2216218
Megha Rajasekhar, Julie A Simpson, Benedikt Ley, Peta Edler, Cindy S Chu, Tesfay Abreha, Ghulam R Awab, J Kevin Baird, Germana Bancone, Bridget E Barber, Matthew J Grigg, Jimee Hwang, Harin Karunajeewa, Marcus V G Lacerda, Simone Ladeia-Andrade, Alejandro Llanos-Cuentas, Sasithon Pukrittayakamee, Komal R Rijal, Kavitha Saravu, Inge Sutanto, Walter R J Taylor, Kamala Thriemer, James A Watson, Philippe J Guerin, Nicholas J White, Ric N Price, Robert J Commons; WorldWide Antimalarial Resistance Network (WWARN) Vivax Primaquine Dosing Efficacy, Tolerability and Safety Study Group
Lancet Infect Dis
September 22, 2023
DOI: 10.1016/S1473-3099(23)00431-0
Walter R J Taylor, Niamh Meagher, Benedikt Ley, Kamala Thriemer, Germana Bancone, Ari Satyagraha, Ashenafi Assefa, Krisin Chand, Nguyen Hoang Chau, Mehul Dhorda, Tamiru S Degaga, Lenny L Ekawati, Asrat Hailu, Mohammad Anwar Hasanzai, Mohammad Nader Naddim, Ayodhia Pitaloka Pasaribu, Awab Ghulam Rahim, Inge Sutanto, Ngo Viet Thanh, Nguyen Thi Tuyet-Trinh, Naomi Waithira, Adugna Woyessa, Arjen Dondorp, Lorenz von Seidlein, Julie A Simpson, Nicholas J White, J Kevin Baird, Nicholas P Day, Ric N Price
September 6, 2023
DOI: 10.1371/journal.pntd.0011522
Kamala Thriemer, Robert James Commons, Megha Rajasekhar, Tamiru Shibiru Degaga, Krisin Chand, Nguyen Hoang Chau, Ashenafi Assefa, Mohammad Nader Naddim, Ayodhia Pitaloka Pasaribu, Awab Ghulam Rahim, Inge Sutanto, Tran Tinh Hien, Asrat Hailu, Mohammad Anwar Hasanzai, Lenny L Ekawati, Adugna Woyessa, Tedla Teferi, Naomi Waithira, Walter R J Taylor, Benedikt Ley, Arjen Dondorp, J Kevin Baird, Nicholas J White, Nicholas P Day, Ric N Price, Julie A Simpson, Lorenz von Seidlein
BMC Med Res Methodol.
September 4, 2023
DOI: 10.1186/s12874-023-02022-3
1 2 18
Skip to content