Buddha Basnyat | Director of OUCRU Nepal

Associate Professor Buddha Basnyat

Chairman of the Board of Directors

Buddha Basnyat is a medical doctor practicing medicine and doing both infectious disease and high-altitude medicine research in Kathmandu, Nepal. He has published widely in both these fields in well-known medical journals and written chapters with co-authors in the latest standard medical textbooks (for example, Harrison’s Textbook of Internal Medicine and the Oxford Textbook of Medicine). He has recently become an associate professor at the University of Oxford, UK.

He is currently a chairman of the Oxford University Clinical Research Unit in Nepal and is also the Medical Director for the Travel and Mountain Medicine Center (travel medicine clinic) and The Himalayan Rescue Association (dealing with high altitude medical problems). In all these institutions one of his primary interests is to encourage young people to do sound, clinical research. He also works at Patan Hospital as a consultant in the internal medicine department and is a Professor of Physiology at the Patan Academy of Health Sciences. He is a Fellow of the American College of Physicians and also a Fellow of the Royal College of Physicians (Edinburgh). He is also a Principal Investigator with the Nuffield Department of Medicine, University of Oxford. He is also the Honorary Consul of the government of Canada to Nepal.


S Manandhar, Q Nguyen, D T Pham, P Amatya, M Rabaa, S Dongol, B Basnyat, S M Dixit, S Baker, A Karkey
J Hosp Infect
July 1, 2022
DOI: 10.1016/j.jhin.2022.03.015
Abhishek Giri, Abhilasha Karkey, Sabina Dongol, Amit Arjyal, Archana Maharjan, Balaji Veeraraghavan, Buddhi Paudyal, Christiane Dolecek, Damodar Gajurel, Dung Nguyen Thi Phuong, Duy Pham Thanh, Farah Qamar, Gagandeep Kang, Ho Van Hien, Jacob John, Katrina Lawson, Marcel Wolbers, Md. Shabab Hossain, M Sharifuzzaman, Nantasit Luangasanatip, Nhukesh Maharjan, Piero Olliaro, Priscilla Rupali, Ronas Shakya, Sadia Shakoor, Samita Rijal, Sonia Qureshi, Stephen Baker, Subi Joshi, Tahmeed Ahmed, Thomas Darton, Tran Nguyen Bao, Yoel Lubell, Evelyne Kestelyn, Guy Thwaites, Christopher M. Parry, Buddha Basnyat
Wellcome Open Res
November 12, 2021
DOI: 10.12688/wellcomeopenres.16801.2
1 2 10
Skip to content