OUCRU Hanoi Staff Photos (2022)

Professor H. Rogier van Doorn

Director of OUCRU Ha Noi

Rogier is a Clinical Microbiologist from the Netherlands who has worked at OUCRU Ho Chi Minh City from 2007 – 2015 and now leads the OUCRU Ha Noi unit, hosted by the National Hospital of Tropical Diseases.


As head of the virology lab for the Southeast Asian Infectious Disease Clinical Research Network, he has led analysis of several diagnostic and intervention studies on human influenza, developed diagnostic lab capacity in local hospitals and a BSL3/SAPO4 facility at OUCRU. He has worked on diagnostics, preparedness and clinical research of emerging infections, and set up and led a multidisciplinary research programme on Hand, Foot, and Mouth Disease.

In Ha Noi, based at the National Hospital for Tropical Diseases, Rogier leads a research programme that covers various aspects of research on bacterial drug resistant infections; including laboratory diagnostics, microbiome research, community interventions, and antibiotic stewardship; and public and policy engagement.

Research Focus

His research interests are improving surveillance for antimicrobial resistance through A Clinically Oriented Antimicrobial resistance surveillance Network (ACORN), serology-based surveillance of emerging and vaccine-preventable diseases, and studying AMR, influenza, and other respiratory infections in a community household cohort in Ha Nam province.



Became Director of OUCRU Ha Noi.

2003 – 2007

MD – Academic Medical Center, Amsterdam (NL), Faculty of Medicine.


PhD – University of Amsterdam (NL), Faculty of Medicine, Amsterdam University Medical Centers – Academic Medical Center, Department of Medical Microbiology. Isoniazid resistance in Mycobacterium tuberculosis.

1990 – 1998

MD – Consultant Clinical Microbiology and Virology, Amsterdam University Medical Centers. Registrations: RIBIZ (NL) 69052473801, GMC (UK) 6168758.

1994 – 1996

MSc – Medical Biology, University of Amsterdam (NL), Faculty of Biology.


Li Hongying, Nguyen Trang Nghiem, Lawson, Katrina, Machalaba Catherine, Ngo Phan Bao Tran, Kim Siyeun, van Doorn Rogier, Daszak, Peter.
November 2, 2023
DOI: 10.5281/zenodo.10019350
Just Transitions for AMR Working Group (Sheila Rose Varadan, Clare Isobel Rosina Chandler, Kym Weed, Syed Masud Ahmed, Caesar Atuire, Deepshikha Batheja, Susan Jane Bull, Sander Chan, Hindrik Rogier van Doorn, Ashish Giri, Ren Gerrets, Steve Hinchliffe, Calvin Ho, Pablo Imbach, Marina Joubert, Claas Kirchhelle, Taciano L Milfont, Sassy Molyneux, Edna Nduku Mutua, Christopher Pell, Nenene Qekwana, Yin Mo, Phaik Yeong Cheah, Sonia Lewycka)
September 8, 2023
DOI: 10.1016/S0140-6736(23)01687-2
1 2 38
Skip to content